Ogun Assembly Suspends Traditional Rulers Appointed By Amosun - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Friday, May 31, 2019

Ogun Assembly Suspends Traditional Rulers Appointed By Amosun

ABEOKUTA - The Ogun State House of Assembly on Friday passed a resolution to suspend all Traditional Rulers appointed in February 2019 till May 28, 2019.

Just few hours to the end of his tenure, not less than 75 traditional rulers were appointed by the former Governor of the state, Ibikunle Amosun, against the wishes of the people.

The appointments had led to brouhaha in the state, especially in Aworiland, where there were complaints that non-indigenes were being appointed as traditional rulers.

The Assembly unanimously passed another resolution calling for the reversal and review of all the upgrading of traditional rulers including Obas and Baales done within the same period for holistic assessment by the new administration with a view to promoting peaceful coexistence and entrenching good governance in the State. 

The Assembly Speaker, Rt Hon Suraju Ishola Adekunbi, also announced the appointment of Hon. Olusola Sonuga as its  new Majority Leader, after due consultation with members of the majority party.

The passage of the bill titled H. B 047/OG/2019 -"Nullification of Irregularities  (Amendment) Law, 2019"at the plenary presided over by Speaker Suraju Ishola Adekunbi, followed the suspension of the Assembly's standing orders 45 -48 to allow for the consecutive second and third readings of the bill. 

Earlier in their separate submissions, members including the Deputy Speaker, Olakunle Oluomo, Honourables Akinpelu Aina, Olusola Bankole, Olusola Sonuga and Adebowale Ojuri, said the last minute appointments, upgrading and employment by the last administration did not follow due process, lacked merit, not in good faith and was lopsided.

They equally submitted that all financial transactions with any financial institution done by the administration not approved through the House of Assembly resolution should   not be honoured by the current government. 

Adeyemo thereafter did the third reading of the bill, while Speaker Adekunbi directed that the clean copy of the bill should be forwarded to the new Governor, Dr Dapo Abiodun  for his assent.

The Assembly passed a resolution directing the State Government to immediately dissolve all chairmen and members of statutory boards and parastatals having been paid their severance allowance by the immediate past administration. 

The lawmakers urged all the chairmen to  hand over government property within their custody to the most senior Director/public servant in their agency  for continuous operation of government activities.

In a related development, the Assembly through a resolution has equally suspended all political functionaries in all Local Government Councils and Local Council Development Councils  (LCDAs) in the State. 

Consequently, it directed all Local Government political office holders to hand over to the Head of Local Government Administration in their respective councils and LCDAs, while enjoining the Chairmen and House leaders to appear before the Assembly on 7th of June, 2019  for appropriate investigation on allegations of gross misconduct and misappropriation of public fund in petitions earlier submitted against some of the local government chairmen.

This, the Assembly said, is to allow for investigation of alleged gross misconduct and misappropriation of public funds against them.

In their remarks, Honourables Akinpelu Aina, Viwanu Ojo, Olawale Alausa, Israel Jolaoso,  Rasaq Oduntan and Adebiyi Adeleye citing instances of the irregularities, reported that their were series of complaints on the promotion and appointments of new monarchs, saying that the traditional institutions and relevant stakeholders were not consulted.

The Assembly ordered that the LGs and LCDAs Chairmen and House Leaders hand over the affairs of the councils to the HOLGA.

They are to appear before the assembly on June 7, 2019.

No comments:

Post a Comment