OGHA Confirms Odedina, 16 Others As Commissioners In Ogun - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Tuesday, December 17, 2019

OGHA Confirms Odedina, 16 Others As Commissioners In Ogun

Dr. Odedina
Michael-Azeez Ogunsiji
ABEOKUTA - The Ogun State House of Assembly has confirmed former Rector, Moshood Abiola Polytechnic, Abeokuta, Ogun State, Dr. Adeola Odedina and 16 other nominees screened yesterday as commissioners in the state. 

THE ENCOUNTER NEWS reports that, 17 out of 18 Commissioner nominees whose names were sent to the Ogun State House of Assembly by Governor Dapo Abiodun were screened yesterday.

The unanimous confirmation of the nominees by the lawmakers through a House Resolution: HR No 049/OG/ 2019, at a plenary presided over by Speaker Olakunle Oluomo, followed the presentation of the Report of the Committee on Selection by the Majority Leader, Yusuf Sheriff after which the Minority Leader, Ganiu Oyedeji moved the motion for the adoption of the report and supported by the Whole House.

According to the report, "out of the 18 nominees, 17 appeared. Only Dr Tomi Coker did not appear; members examined the Curriculum vitaes and other credentials of the 17 nominees and interviewed them. The 17 nominees were found to be eligible and suitable to assume the exalted office of the Honourable Commissioner in Ogun State; the Commitee therefore recommend them for the confirmation as Commissioners in Ogun State, having been found eligible as required by Section 192 (4) of the Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria".   

Thereafter, the Majority Leader moved the motion for the nominees' confirmation, seconded by Sylvester Abiodun and supported by all lawmakers through a voice vote.

Responding, the Speaker remarked that the State at this time needed quality services beyond politicking and segregation, which was the reason leaders of the legislative caucuses including Oludaisi Elemide, Kemi Oduwole and Yusuf Sheriff gave an overview of their interactions with the nominees from all the three Senatorial Districts on the need to promote synergy amongst all arms of government including relevant stakeholders to advance even development of all parts of the State.

No comments:

Post a Comment