Showunmi Emerges Ogun ACOMORAN Chairman - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Friday, February 21, 2020

Showunmi Emerges Ogun ACOMORAN Chairman

The new Chairman, Kayode Showunmi receiving his certificate of office from the outgone Chairman, Shamsideen Apelogun

Michael-Azeez Ogunsiji
ABEOKUTA - Mr. Kayode Showunmi has been elected Chairman, Amalgamated and Commercial Motorcycles Riders, Repairs Association of Nigeria (ACOMORAN) in Ogun State. 

Showunmi emerged unopposed following the decision of his close contestant, Kolawole Ishola to step down from the chairmanship race. 

The peaceful election held at the ACOMORAN secretariat in Abeokuta also saw all other 29 executive members emerged through a consensus decision.  

In his acceptance speech, the new chairman, Kayode Showunmi urged members of the association to remain formidable, urging them not to allow the emotion of election to divide them as association.

He assured members of his administration's resolve to ensure overall welfare of members through constant workshop and seminars for members. 

Showunmi noted that, the new executive would thrive to accomplish its five cardinal programmes which include; Discipline, Empowerment, Insurance policy, security of members and welfare. 

He commended other contestants for the show of sportsmanship before, during and after the election, urging all aggrieved members to join hands with the executive in the best interest of the association. 

In his remark, the outgone Chairman of the association, Alhaji Shamsideen Apelogun commended the state governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun for allowing members to freely chose their leader without undue interference. 

He however refuted the claim of having influence over the election saying, his interest was driven by competence and commitment in the development of the association. 

He however, expressed confidence in the new leadership of the association, noting that, the new chairman has capacity to add value to lives of the members. 

He urged the new exco to abide by the policy of the state government and support Prince Dapo Abiodun administration at ensuring increase in the revenue generation of the state. 

He said, "A lot of factors were responsible for this long wait. First, there were various contending interests both within and outside the association.

"I want to make it abundantly clear that all those that contested are indeed our members and I have no personal issue with any of them as we have related as brothers over the years. My interest was however driven by competence, commitment and the fact that the people should be allowed to freely chose their leader; a leader that has the ability to put the collective interest of the association above any personal or pecuniary interest."

Other elected members are; Aare Fatai Temidayo, as Secretary, Alowolodu Adeleke Alao as Treasurer, Moshood Akanni Suliman as Deputy Chairman 1, Yusuf Murtala Okubisi as Deputy chairman 2.

Others include; Lawal Olusegun Samson as Assistant Secretary, Obafemi Daud Akanbi as Financial Secretary, Akinlola Awosanya as PRO, Agboola Oladipupo as Welfare officer 2 and Adewale Odunlami as Organizing Secretary.

No comments:

Post a Comment