Controversy As Two NANS/JCC Chairmen Emerge In Ogun - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Sunday, January 31, 2021

Controversy As Two NANS/JCC Chairmen Emerge In Ogun

ABEOKUTA - Controversy has continued to trail the election into office of the Chairman of National Association of Nigeria Students (NANS) in Ogun state, as another candidate emerged as Chairman of the students body. 

A student of Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Comrade Adeyemi Ajasa has been announced as the new chairman of the National Association of Nigeria Students (NANS) in Ogun state. 

Earlier, Damilola Simeon popularly known as Daosmos was declared winner in an election witnessed by Special Adviser to Ogun state governor on Students Matters, Comrade Adeyemi Azeez and Consultant on Media to Ogun state governor, Mr. Ifekayode Akinbode held on Saturday at the Alake Sports Centre, Ijeja, in Abeokuta. 

Daosmos had emerged unopposed following the withdrawal of six other candidates from the race. 

Nine Senators from the 10 accredited institutions that were present at the election ground voted Damilola Simeon as the State NANS chairman. 

In another development, Ajasa popularly called Samrich was also returned elected after polling 6 votes from the total votes of 7 accredited senators from different tertiary institutions present at the election ground. 

The election which was held at the Olabisi Onabanjo University Campus, Ago-Iwoye on Saturday had in attendance six of the outgoing nine executive. 

In a communiqué issued by the Communiqué Drafting Committee chairman, Comrade Joseph Kuola and his secretary, Comrade Adegbesan Oluwaseyi  described the election as one of the most peaceful in the state. 

In his acceptance address, the newly elected chairman promised to return the lost glory of NANS in the state. 

Comrade Ajasa noted that all the wrong doing in NANS will be corrected, stressing that his administration will priorities the interest of the students above personal gains. 

He added, “because we would all be remembered for our activities on earth which might contribute either a woe or blessing to our children journey here on earth, this is the reason why many us alongside other progressive minded students leaders have continued in the mission to have quality representation of our constituency . 

“After serving at different capacities in the students movement which includes, Social Director NANS JCC Ogun, SSA VP External NANS National and today by the grace of God and the support of the progressive minded individuals and the teaming Nigerian students, I emerged as the State Chairman of the National Association of Nigerians Students, NANS, Ogun State axis. 

“Although, I know that wherever people seeks freedom, an oppressor exists but we shall quash them all during the cause of this regime. 

“We must allay the fears of our students as we are well informed of all our challenges as students in the gateway state, believe me and believe God, we shall stop at nothing until we return the lost glory of the students constituency.

“We must note, that as students we have noticed the good works of His excellency, Governor of Ogun state, Prince Dapo Abiodun, which has been upturned and portrayed as bad works by some unscrupulous elements disguising to be a part and friends of the government . 

“At different times this group of people have on behalf of our students sent text messages to the Governor, misrepresenting our students, all for their selfish interest.  All this wrongs we shall right. 

“I will not end this address without profoundly thanking the Governor for standing on the part of neutrality and justice, may God bless you. I also appreciate the Special Adviser to the Governor on political matters, Hon. Biyi Adeleye, Senior Special Adviser to the Governor, RT. Hon. Tunji Egbetokun and a host of others. 

“Conclusively, I pledge that I shall discharge my duties with all sense of respect to my constituency and the association.” 

Other elected officers are; Comrade Unah Faith Peter as the Vice Chairman; Comrade Azeez Ahmed as General Secretary; Comrade Talabi John as the Assistant General Secretary; Comrade Adeyemo Taofeek as Treasurer. 

Comrade Popoola Abdullah emerged as the Director of Welfare; Comrade Alaba emerged as Financial Secretary, while Comrade Odusolu Oluwatobi went unopposed as Director of Sports of the students’ body.

Comrade Adeusi  Mubarak emerged as the Director of Social, while Comrade Malik Ibrahim was returned elected as the PRO of the association. 


No comments:

Post a Comment