Ogun LG Poll: Eight Abeokuta South Chairmanship Aspirants Knock Majekodunmi's Endorsement By 'Sponsored Groups' - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Monday, May 31, 2021

Ogun LG Poll: Eight Abeokuta South Chairmanship Aspirants Knock Majekodunmi's Endorsement By 'Sponsored Groups'


The eight Chairmanship aspirants

ABEOKUTA -- Following the endorsement of Mr. Omolaja Majekodunmi by some leaders as APC flagbearer in the forthcoming local government election in Ogun state, eight Chairmanship Aspirants on the Platform of All Progressives Congress (APC) in Abeokuta South Local Government of Ogun State have stated that they will abide with the decision of the State Governor, Prince Dapo Abiodun on the choice of candidate for the forthcoming Local Government election.

The aspirants while reacting to the purported endorsement of Hon. Majekodunmi by some political groups allegedly sponsored by the Commissioner for Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs Hon. Afolabi Afuape, stated that the group acted contrary to the advice of the Governor.

Speaking on behalf of other aspirants, Hon. Adedayo Akintoye popularly called D1 queried why the groups hurriedly went to the media before the Governor's pronouncement, adding that their endorsement of the Transition Chairman, Abeokuta South local government, Hon. Ayodeji Shomide still stands.

"I will just tell them not to cause problem in Abeokuta south because the governor has spoken and that I think, a loyal party member will obey that. 

"We will stand by governor Dapo Abiodun's decision. That is, why we will not accept their Kangaroo consensus candidate. Since the party leaders in the local government are unable to reach agreement on a consensus candidate, the Governor  will chose the chairman for the local government.

"On that governor's decision we stand and we are patiently still waiting for his pronouncement. 

"We will wait for the governor's decision. Whoever that is backing up those groups should desist from it. They should wait for the governor's decision which will be out in the next 48 hours", he added.

The resolution was endorsed by all the nine Chairmanship aspirants present, which includes: Hon. Adedayo Okanlanwan Akintoye, Hon Muiz Oladehinde Omitogun, Hon Olujimi Adekunle, Hon. Damilare Olumide Tosin, Hon Toyosi Abdulquasin Enilolobo, Hon. Mustapha Kodaolu Olajide (MKO), Barrister Ayodeji Kehinde and Hon. Saheed Balogun.

Other political groups that have endorsed the candidature of Ayodeji Shomide includes: Premier Vanguard, Change Agents Foundation (CAF), Abeokuta South, Forum for the Patriotic Member of APC and Ogun Patriotic Youth Forum (OPYM).

Others includes Progressive Members Group (PMG), Dapo Abiodun Liberation Movement (DALM), and Premier Youth Forum, PYF.

No comments:

Post a Comment