Ogun Shuts 12 Schools Over Cult-Related Clashes - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Wednesday, December 1, 2021

Ogun Shuts 12 Schools Over Cult-Related Clashes

ABEOKUTA - Ogun State Government has shut not less than 12 public secondary schools to avert the circus of cult-related violence ahead of the December 10 first term vacation.

The Commissioner for Education, Science and Technology, Prof. Abayomi Arigbabu, said the measure became necessary to stem the tide of clashes that had rocked some public secondary schools in the State.

The affected schools were asked to proceed on vacation at the conclusion of their first term examination on Tuesday, November 30.

Other secondary schools deemed peaceful will close for the term on December 10.

The Nation reports that students of some secondary schools in the State had recently engaged in cult-related clashes with neighbouring schools.

Prof Arigbabu said the affected 12 schools were considered as flashpoints of reported unruly behaviour of some their students against either teachers or their counterparts from neighbouring schools.

The Commissioner, in a statement addressed to the Zonal Education officers, explained: “The underlisted hotspot schools should commence their compulsory holiday with effect from Tuesday, 30th November, 2021. Kindly ensure the compliance of this in your different zones.”

The schools are: Egba High School Asero; Asero High School; Itori Comprehensive High School Itori; Ofada Community Comprehensive High School Ofada and Lafenwa High School, Lafenwa, Abeokuta.

Others are Egba Owode Grammar School Owode; Community Comprehensive High School Ijoun; Unity High School Kajola IboroAdo-odo Ota and Eyini Comprehensive High School, Iboro

The rest are Government Science & Technical College Idi-Aba, Abeokuta; Lisabi Grammar School Idi-Aba Abeokuta and Methodist High School, Arigbajo.

No comments:

Post a Comment