157 Pro, Amateur Golfers To Storm Ogun For Alake Golf Tourney - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Thursday, February 24, 2022

157 Pro, Amateur Golfers To Storm Ogun For Alake Golf Tourney


Members of the planning committee addressing journalists 

ABEOKUTA - About 157 Professionals and golfers from 13 States will storm the Ogun state capital on Friday to participate in the 17th annual Alake Golf Tournament billed to hold between 25th and 26th of February, 2022.

The two-day tourney will take place at the Abeokuta Golf Course, Oke-Mosan.

The Chairman, Planning Committee of the tournament, Mr. Kola Adeneye disclosed this on Wednesday at a press conference in Abeokuta.

Adeneye said the tournament is to commemorate the coronation anniversary of the Alake and Paramount ruler of Egbaland, Oba Adedotun Aremu Gbadebo.

He explained that the participants would be hosted to a cocktail party.

According to him, all the six golf clubs in the South West of the country will be participating in this year's event.

He equally noted that golf clubs from Kogi, Akwa Ibom, Rivers, Edo, Delta, and Abuja are also participating.

Adeneye emphasized that, only 12 professional golfers are playing for the N1million grand prize money, while 145 amateurs will play for honours with 19 trophies to be won and electronic gifts such as TV set, refrigerators and generators.

The Committee Chairman stressed that, the tournament ought to have taken place since last year but was shifted due to the Covid-19 pandemic.

"Abeokuta golf club is hosting this big tournament in honour of Kabiyesi on the 25th and 26th of February. That is Friday and Saturday this weekend. As I speak to you we have close to 150 participants that will be taking part in this tournament out of which 39 of them are ladies.

"Total number of 12 professionals are taking part in the tournament with 145 Amateur out of which we have 39 ladies. The amateur include the regular players and the veterans. We have about 13 states coming to participate from the South West states, Edo,  Delta, Kogi, Abuja, Kwara, Akwa Ibom and Rivers state."

No comments:

Post a Comment