PDP guber primary: Makinde, Fintiri get second term tickets - THE ENCOUNTER NEWS


Thursday, May 26, 2022

PDP guber primary: Makinde, Fintiri get second term tickets

IBADAN - The race by the major opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to win 25 states, up from the 13 it currently controls, began yesterday across the country with its shadow governorship elections to produce candidates to fly the party’s flag in the 31 states where gubernatorial polls will hold in 2023

Two of its three governors on their first tenure – Seyi Makinde of Oyo State and Ahmadu Fintri of Adamawa State – won tickets to run for a second term, while Bauchi State governor, Bala Mohammed, is stepping up to run for the presidency.

Makinde, yesterday, emerged the standard-bearer, polling a total of 1,040 delegates votes to defeat his challenger, Hazeem Gbolarunmi, who had two votes.

The returning officer, Ben Obi, who was represented by Abdullahi MaiBasia, made the declaration. There were six void votes out of the total votes cast of 1,048.

In his acceptance speech, Makinde expressed gratitude to party leaders, members and delegates across the 33 local councils for believing in him and the leaders of the party in the state.

Reacting to Makinde’s victory, former Deputy Governor of the state, Azeez Gbolarunmi, said: “You will soon hear from me. Makinde contested against himself. All the real delegates of the party were not allowed to vote. I don’t need to talk too much.”

In Adamawa, chairman of the PDP governorship primary committee, Gavin Katabs, who made the announcement said, Governor Fintiri polled 663 of the 668 votes, with five of the votes, declared invalidated.

Fintiri, a former Speaker of Adamawa State Assembly and his deputy, Serth Crowder, were sworn in for their first term on May 29, 2019, on the platform of the party.

In Lagos State, chairman of Lagos4Lagos, Olajide Adediran, popularly known as Jandor, yesterday, emerged as governorship candidate. Jandor polled 679 of the 709 accredited voters to defeat his main challenger, David Kolawole Vaughan, popularly known as Dakova, who polled 20 votes. Ten void votes were, however, recorded in the exercise.

Chairman of the election panel, Emmanuel Ogidi, declared Jandor as the party’s flag bearer ahead of the governorship election next year. 


Earlier, four aspirants contesting for the ticket had withdrawn from the race, leaving just Jandor and Dacova. The four aspirants who withdrew from the race are: Dr. Ade Dosunmu, Deji Doherty, Jimi Kamal and Rhodes Gbadebo.


Ogidi said: “We want to apologise for starting late and you know PDP is a family affair. We have been discussing with the critical stakeholders and we want to inform that four out of the six contenders in the race have voluntarily stepped down. They have dropped their letters and given reasons for stepping down.”


Adediran, who addressed the delegates, said the day was one that had long been awaited and the moment PDP had set aside for total emancipation of Lagos.


The aspirant, who noted that all those he met in the party and all the aspirants were qualified to be governor of Lagos, said “our aspiration is one, which is to put Lagos back on course.

“Our aspiration is one, which is to rescue Lagos. That is why we have decided to speak with one voice to put the party forward.”

 In his short speech, Dakova thanked the party’s election committee and party members as well as co-aspirants for their understanding.

FORMER Commissioner of Finance in Enugu State, Dr Peter Mbah, has emerged PDP’s governorship candidate. Mbah, who is the chief executive officer, Pinnacle Oil Company, polled 750 out of 765 votes cast by delegates to beat nine other aspirants.

Eight aspirants, including Abraham Nneji, Kingsley Ude, Erasmus Anike, Ugwu Nwabueze, Rev Ralph Nwoye, Prof. Jehu Nnaji, Beloved Dan Anike and GOC Ajah had announced their withdrawal from the race “to support Mbah”, moments before commencement of the exercise.

Chijioke Edeoga, immediate past Commissioner of Environment, scored nine votes; Chinyeaka Ohaa, three votes and Gilbert Chukwunta, one vote. One vote was declared invalid.

Former Minister of Power, Prof Barth Nnaji, Ike Ekweremadu, Josef Onoh and Everitus Nnaji had yesterday morning declined to participate in the primary.

Chairman of the primary, Senator Ambonu Zik Sunday, said Mbah, a former Chief of Staff to ex-governor Chimaroke Nnamani, scored the highest number of votes cast by delegates in the election.

He commended the delegates for their peaceful conduct while the process lasted, stressing that Enugu remained a pace setter for the party in electoral conduct in the country.

No comments:

Post a Comment